Wednesday, May 09, 2018

Shortlist revealed for Ulster Bank League Awards 2018

from Ulster Bank Rugby

Luke McGrath, Carol McMahon (Head of Business Marketing & Sponsorship, Ulster Bank) & Tom Daly pictured at the launch of the Ulster Bank League Awards. Credit: Sportsfile

The Ulster Bank League Awards return to the Aviva Stadium next week for their annual end of season showcase to recognise the outstanding club talent throughout all five divisions of the league. The Awards will take place on Thursday, 17th May and will celebrate the local heroes who line out for their clubs across the country.

Ireland’s Grand Slam winning head coach Joe Schmidt will be present on the night to present the awards to the winners across the 16 different categories. This year will also see the introduction of a new category, the ‘#UBL Try of the Season’, recognising the winners of the #UBL Try of the Month throughout this year’s Ulster Bank League.

The 2017/18 season officially came to an end yesterday with Lansdowne celebrating victory over Cork Constitution following a thrilling Ulster Bank League Division 1A final.

Now in its sixth year, the Ulster Bank League Awards have become a popular fixture on the Irish rugby calendar and an event which celebrates the exceptional talents of the grassroots game in Ireland. The high standard showcased throughout the Ulster Bank League season continues to show that the league provides an essential platform for the stars of the future. 

In recent years the Ulster Bank League Awards have recognised some of Ireland’s rugby stars of the future. Current Irish internationals Joey Carberry & Jordan Larmour were nominated in 2016 and 2017 respectively with Carberry picking up the Rising Star of the Year award for his performances for Clontarf in the 2015/16 season.

Once again, the Provincial Player of the Year awards will be chosen by public vote with the shortlist nominated by our expert judging panel of pundits Donn O’Sullivan (Limerick Leader), Richard Mulligan (The Newsletter), John Mulligan (Galway Bay FM) and Chairman of the Ulster Bank League Nicholas Comyn.

Lansdowne lead the pack at this year’s awards following a terrific season which saw them finish top of Division 1A and also seize an emphatic win against a five in a row winning Cork Constitution to lift their first Bateman Cup trophy since 1931. The Dublin club are also guaranteed to pick up at least one award as Scott Deasy will be awarded as the Ulster Bank League Top Points scorer finishing the season with 219 points while Garryowen’s Liam Coombes will be presented with the Top Try Scorer of the Season award closing his campaign with 11 tries.

Awards will be presented in the following categories: 

1. Ulster Bank Player of the Year - Division 1A
2. Ulster Bank Top Try Scorer - Division 1A
3. Ulster Bank Top Points Scorer - Division 1A
4. Ulster Bank Rising Star of the Year Award - Division 1A
5. Ulster Bank Coach of the Year - Division 1A
6. Ulster Bank Player of the Year - Division 1B
7. Ulster Bank Player of the Year - Division 2A
8. Ulster Bank Player of the Year - Division 2B
9. Ulster Bank Player of the Year - Division 2C
10. Ulster Bank Club PRO (Public Relations Officer) of the Year
11. Ulster Bank Club Volunteer of the Year
12. #UBLTry of the Season
13. Ulster Bank Provincial Players of the Year - voted by the public through Ulster Bank Rugby Social Media

Speaking in advance of the Ulster Bank League awards, Carol McMahon, Head of Business, Marketing & Sponsorship, Ulster Bank commented: “It has been another unforgettable season of club rugby in the Ulster Bank League and one which has once again showcased the extremely high standard of grassroots rugby in Ireland. 

Ulster Bank is very proud to support these clubs and players, who dedicate their time, their talent and their weekends to ensure that rugby continues to thrive at a national, provincial and local level. The awards recognise and celebrate the dedication, commitment and hard work shown by players, coaches and volunteers who continue to grow the game at grassroots level and make the league a significant component of the sporting calendar.”

The Ulster Bank League Awards will be held at the Aviva Stadium on Thursday 17th May. For more information see to



Ulster Bank League Division 1A Player of the Year

·         Neil Cronin (Garryowen FC)

·         Eamon Mills (Lansdowne FC)

·         Adam Leavy (Lansdowne FC)

·         Tomás Quinlan (Cork Constitution FC)

Ulster Bank League Division 1A Rising Star Award

·         Alan Tynan (Young Munster)

·         Bill Johnston (Garryowen FC)

·         Charlie Rock (Lansdowne FC)

·         Alex McHenry (Cork Constitution)

Ulster Bank League Division 1A Coach of the Year

·         Brian Hickey (Cork Constitution FC)

·         Mike Ruddock (Lansdowne FC)

·         Conan Doyle (Garryowen FC)

·         James Blaney (Terenure College RFC)

Ulster Bank League Division 1B Player of the Year

·         Will Leonard (Shannon RFC)

·         Tony Cusack (Shannon RFC)

·         Andrew Morrison (Banbridge RFC)

·         Paul Kiernan (UCC RFC)

Ulster Bank League Division 2A Player of the Year

·         Rory Campbell (Malone RFC)

·         Fintan O’Sullivan (Highfield RFC)

·         Cormac Fox (City of Armagh)

·         Brian Murphy (Galwegians)

Ulster Bank League Division 2B Player of the Year

·         Tommy O’Hagan (Rainey Old Boys RFC)

·         Val McDermott (Old Crescent RFC)

·         Seaghan Gleeson (Old Crescent RFC)

·         Eoin King (Navan RFC)

Ulster Bank League Division 2C Player of the Year

·         Manu Parkin (Sligo RFC)

·         Shane Boyle (Sligo RFC)

·         Evan Cusack (Thomond RFC)

·         Stuart McCain (Omagh Accies RFC)

Ulster Bank – Club P.R.O. of the Year

·         Frank Larkin (Old Crescent RFC)

·         Carl Blake (Galwegians RFC)

·         Chris Moore (Queens University)

·         Katie McCloskey (Shannon RFC)

Ulster Bank Provincial Player of the Year - Across all UBL divisions (Public Vote)
Munster Nominees

·         Neil Cronin (Garryowen FC)

·         Tomás Quinlan (Cork Constitution)

·         Val McDermott (Old Crescent RFC)

·         Will Leonard (Shannon RFC)

Leinster Nominees

·         Adam Leavy (Lansdowne FC)

·         Eamon Mills (Lansdowne FC)

·         Harry Brennan (Lansdowne FC)

·         Jack Swain (Terenure College RFC)

Ulster Nominees

·         Andrew Morrison (Banbridge RFC)

·         Caleb Montgomery (Banbridge RFC)

·         Rory Campbell (Malone RFC)

·         Stuart McCain (Omagh Accies RFC)

Connacht Nominees

·         Manu Parkin (Sligo RFC)

·         Shane Boyle (Sligo RFC)

·         Brian Murphy (Galwegians RFC)

·         Martin Staunton (Buccaneers RFC)


Taken by JLP from RDS press box on Nov 16, 2019